WP Juneteenth

About Us

Twelve years ago, White Plains joined the growing number of American cities commemorating Juneteenth, the oldest known celebration observing the end of slavery in the United States.

In 2003 the State of New York proclaimed that June nineteenth is to be known as Juneteenth Freedom Day. Shortly there after the White Plains Juneteenth Heritage Committee was formed with the support of Mayor Joseph Delfino, County Legislator Lois Bronz, the White Plains Common Council and African American civic leaders, clergy, community activists and local residents.

Our Committee

White Plains Juneteenth Heritage Committee Members


Heather Miller

Jonette Mines

Sheran Lyons

Chairman Extempore
Mack Carter

Immediate Past Chairman
Bernie Thombs

Committee Members
Jirrel Abrahams
Kim Lawrence-Albert
Donna Bannister
Wayne Bass
Rosa Boone
Joseph Boykin
Delphine Burton
Reginald Bush
Patricia Diggs
Jonni Dingle
Wayne Francis
Roberta Graham
Gwendolyn Harris
Wiley Harrison
Monique Haygood
Caleb Lawrence
Theodore Lee, Jr.
Kurt Kannemeyer
April McClemmy
Jonette Mines
Charles Morgan
Julia Nesbitt
Steven Patterson
Surya Peterson
Sylvester Price, III
Adrienne Rivers
Seslie Robinson
Judeson Saintil
Deveria Searcy
Frank Williams

Ministers Fellowship Council of White Plains and Vicinity

Charlie C. Booth
Glen Hockley
Ronald A. Jackson
Darryl Jenkins